Please select your country / region

Close Window
GT SPORT Community
GT Academy

Four Gamers to Compete at Legendary Le Mans 24 Hours for Nissan

While "GT Academy 2014" is currently underway with Round 3 opening to all "Gran Turismo 6" players from the 19th of May, 4 winners from the past editions have been selected by Nissan to race in this year's Le Mans 24 Hours: two in the ultra-competitive LM P2 class and two in the Nissan ZEOD RC, Nissan's revolutionary electric racer that occupies ‘Garage 56' at this year's event.

Lining up in the No.35 Ligier JS P2 Nissan, which is run by Onroak Automotive, are 2011 European GT Academy winner Jann Mardenborough and 2012 Russian GT Academy winner Mark Shulzhitskiy, together with Nissan regular Alex Brundle.

On the other hand, Nissan ZEOD RC has a truly international trio of drivers at Le Mans. The original 2008 GT Academy winner Lucas Ordóñez will be joined by Wolfgang Reip - the 2012 European GT Academy winner - and Japanese racer Satoshi Motoyama.

"Le Mans will always be special to me," said Mardenborough. "I was taken there as a GT Academy finalist in 2011 when Lucas made his debut and then I returned as a racing driver in 2013. Most of my racing is in single-seaters these days and that is teaching me a lot about the craft of being a racing driver. We finished fourth on the road last year but were promoted to the podium after the event. It would be good to go back to Le Mans and leave with a trophy in my hands this time."

"I am very much enjoying my role as a test driver for the Ligier JS P2," said Shulzhitskiy. "Working with the engineers at Onroak Automotive and alongside Olivier Pla has been an incredible experience for me. Now it is going to get even better as it is finally my turn to race at Le Mans. This is what the winners of GT Academy dream about so I hope I can live up to the performance of the winners who have gone before me."

The race starts at 3:00PM (GMT+1) on Saturday 14 June. Tune in to see how our graduates will perform in what is considered the pinnacle of endurance racing!